Safety Centre

Training

  • First Aid Training

    First aid is an essential skill for the entire family to learn so they can act confidently if an injury occurs.

    Would you know what to do if you discovered an infant face down in a pool of water? Could you assist a choking child or manage a child with burns from cups of tea or coffee, boiling water or fire? Are you confident you would know what to do in a life-threatening emergency?

    Emergcare runs a six-hour Paediatric Emergency Care course on child injury prevention, basic resuscitation and first aid skills at The Royal Children's Hospital.

    The course costs $110 and covers:

    • care of the unconscious child
    • child and infant resuscitation
    • choking
    • asthma and croup
    • fractures
    • bites and stings
    • head injuries
    • convulsions
    • bleeding
    • dislodged teeth
    • burns and scalds
    • poisonings

    The Paediatric Emergency Care course is particularly worthwhile for parents, grandparents, nannies and child care providers.

    Feedback from some of the participants: "Would strongly recommend this course to anyone." "Really engaging delivery"
    "Good use of humour to break up some intense information."
    "Course was conducted in a timely, efficient and exceptionally effective manner.  Tim did a fabulous job – would recommend all new parents to do this day training."
    "I learned a lot, enjoyed the stories.  Hopefully won't need it."

    Course Dates for 2018

     Saturday 30th June
     Saturday 21st July
     Saturday 4th August
     Saturday 25th August
     Saturday 8th September
     Saturday 22nd September
     Saturday 6th October
     Saturday 20th October
     Saturday 10th November
     Saturday 24th November
     Saturday 8th December

    All sessions will run from 9.30am - 4pm.

    To book, call Emergcare on (03) 9304 1622, 0408 035 345 or email enquiries@emergcare.com.au. For more information, visit www.emergcare.com.au.