Stay informed with the latest updates on coronavirus (COVID-19). Find out more >>


About us

  • The RCH Medical Alumni

    The RCH Medical Alumni Association was established many years ago, as a group of medical and dental staff who had worked either as trainees or as consultants at the Royal Children’s Hospital. Initially the organisation was universally known as “The RCH Medical Alumni”, but in more recent times it has tended to be referred to more loosely as “The RCH Alumni”, as a number of members are not Medical.

    We are a group of professionals who have spent at least part of our working life at The Royal Children's Hospital Campus. We wish to maintain and develop friendships made during our working life. We also seek to promote the wellbeing of the hospital. We do this by encouraging eligible individuals to join the Alumni and to participate in our activities. These include 4 - 5 luncheons (approximately every three months) with a guest speaker, attendance at the RCH functions such as grand rounds and special lectures arranged by the hospital and an end of the year Gala Dinner. Through our newsletters, we aim to disseminate news of the activities and interests of our members.

    The RCH Alumni welcomes as members medical and dental graduates who have been on staff at The Royal Children’s Hospital Campus, as well as professional and scientific former senior staff who have worked at the RCH. Membership is open to staff of the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, including the Victorian Clinical Genetics Service, and the University of Melbourne Department of Paediatrics.

    The spouse or partner of a deceased member is entitled to continuing membership.

    Applications for membership are invited from eligible individuals who have retired, reached the age of 65, or have taken up appointments at other institutions, but wish to retain a link with RCH through membership of the Alumni

    Executive Committee

    The Executive Committee for 2019-2020  is Ms Ruth Wraith OAM (President), Professor Jim Wilkinson AM (Vice President and Treasurer), Dr Garry Warne AM (Honorary Secretary), Dr Hugo Gold, Ms Christine Unsworth AM, Dr Kevin Collins, Ms Gigi Williamsl, Ms Bronwyn Hewitt, Professor Peter McDougall, Dr Caroline Clarke.

    Address for correspondence:

    Finding your way in "The New RCH"

    See information on finding your way around the new RCH building.

    New members 2019/20

    See the full list of new Alumni members.

    Apply for membership

    Access the membership form

    Archives and Collections

    Photo Albums from the Hospital

    The constitution of the RCH Medical Alumni

    The constitution was most recently revised in 2016. It can be accessed via the button below.

    View the constitution

    Do you want to view Past Grand Rounds recordings?

    View / listen to Grand Round: Archives

    Do you want notification about Grand Rounds?

    Information on Grand Rounds

  • Latest News