Stay informed with the latest updates on coronavirus (COVID-19). Find out more >>

Certificate of competency

  • Criteria for Evaluation of VFPMS Competencies

    Competencies in Forensic Paediatric Medicine

    In 2007 the Victorian Forensic Paediatric Medial Service awarded the inaugural Certificate of Competency to the first advanced trainee to successfully complete the VFPMS Training Program and demonstrate the possession of core and case-specific competencies.

    The framework for VFPMS assessment of competencies is based on the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health model.

    VFPMS considers three levels of competency.

    • Core competencies
    • Case-specific competencies
    • Evolving expertise

    In order to attain a Certificate of Competency a candidate must demonstrate all core competencies and at least five of seven case-specific competencies.

    Skills have been defined in broad terms in keeping with the curriculum for RACP Community Child Health.

    Methods of evaluation include (but are not limited to)

    • clinical supervision
    • discussions with mentor
    • review of all medical reports
    • case presentations and contributions to discussion at peer review
    • presentation of evidence in court
    • case presentations and contributions to discussions at case conferences
    • literature review
    • research
    • advocacy
    • teaching

    Fellows are expected to keep a log of all cases seen.

    It is expected that Fellows will gain these competencies by working their way through the RACP curricula and in accordance with the VFPMS Training Program. It is NOT a requirement that all aspects of the training program must be covered during the rotation. Fellows are free to explore alternative strategies to ensure that they gain knowledge, skills and behaviours that are likely to be of benefit to the trainee for his/her future career.

    Additional information about the evaluation of competencies and the VFPMS Training Program is available from