Domains of practice

  • The Royal Children's Hospital (RCH) values the contribution our Nursing team makes to great care across RCH.  To make this contribution more visible, the roles and  responsibilities of Nursing positions at a Grade 3 level or higher are described within a framework of 5 Domains of Practice (Chang et al 2010; Chang et al 2012):

    • Direct and comprehensive care
    • Support of systems
    • Education
    • Research
    • Publication and leadership

    Nursing Services at RCH recognises nursing development may occur across 4 trajectories:  Clinical Practice, Research, Management and Education. The domains of practice outlined by Chang and colleagues have been used for all 4 pathways of development, with the relative emphasis of practice differing in support of the increased focus warranted within each pathway.